Skip to Content

A4 People


Dr. Pamela Spencer is the Senior Director of Regulatory Affairs & Product Stewardship at ANGUS Chemical, in Chicago, IL. Prior to this role, she worked for the Dow Chemical Company for 30 years, retiring as the Scientific Director of Dow’s Toxicology Environmental Research & Consulting function.  She received her doctorate from the Department of Toxicology, School of Public Health, University of Michigan. She has extensive experience in regulatory toxicity testing and research to define human health risks, with numerous publications to date in the areas of neurotoxicology, genetic toxicology, carcinogenicity and green chemistry.

Dr. Spencer is involved in several scientific service activities that include: appointment to National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), Scientific Advisory Committee on Alternative Toxicological Methods, appointment to the Board of Trustees for the Health and Environmental Sciences Institute, and Vice President Society of Toxicology In Vitro and Alternative Methods Specialty section.

Read the President's Letter

Executive Director

Dr. Joel Tickner is Professor in the Department of Public Health at the University of Massachusetts Lowell where he also directs the Chemicals Policy and Science Initiative at the Lowell Center for Sustainable Production. He is founder and Director of the Green Chemistry and Commerce Council. He is a leading expert on the application of green chemistry and alternatives assessment in science and policy. He has served on a number of EPA and National Academy of Sciences advisory committees and advises government agencies around the world. He holds a Masters of Science degree in Environmental Studies from the University of Montana and a Doctor of Science Degree from the Department of Work Environment at University of Massachusetts Lowell.

A4 Steering Committee

Topher Buck, Northeast Waste Management Officials' Association (NEWMOA)

Elaine Cohen Hubal, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

David Dorman, North Carolina State University, Department of Molecular Biosciences

Peter Fantke, Technical University of Denmark, Division for Quantitative Sustainability Assessment

Art Fong, Apple

Shari Franjevic, BizNGO, Clean Production Action

Lauren Heine, MaterialWise

Molly Jacobs, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Lowell Center for Sustainable Production

Tim Malloy, University of California Los Angeles, Sustainable Technology Policy Program, School of Law & School of Public Health

Karl Palmer, Safer Consumer Products Branch, California Department of Toxic Substances Control

Cathy Rudisill, SRC, Inc.

Jessica Schifano, U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Robert Skoglund, Covestro LLC

Rachel Simon, University of Massachusetts Lowell, Lowell Center for Sustainable Production

Jennifer Tanir, Toward Safer LLC

Margaret Whittaker, ToxServices LLC